2023 Rural IL Blue Ribbon Award Winners

Several Rural and Small Illinois Schools Receive 2023 National Blue Ribbon Award

The Association of Illinois Rural and Small Schools is proud to join the United States Department of Education in recognizing the following schools and districts as National Blue Ribbon Schools:

  • Hiawatha CUSD 426 (Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools)
  • Prairie Hill CCSD 133 (Exemplary High Performing Schools, Bell Award Winner)
  • Teutopolis CUSD 50 (Exemplary High Performing Schools)
  • Franklin Elementary School (Exemplary High Performing Schools)
  • Lebanon CUSD #9 (Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools)

This is the 40th group of Blue Ribbon awardees, and the U.S. Department of Education has given over 10,000 awards over the years.

“The National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content,” says the U.S. Department of Education website. “A National Blue Ribbon School flag gracing a school’s entryway or on a flagpole is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.”

The 2023 Blue Ribbon cohort had 353 schools, and AIRSS is proud of our rural and small schools for being selected for this honor.

“These schools demonstrate what is possible to make an enduring, positive difference in students’ lives,” says the website. “National Blue Ribbon Schools are an inspiration and a model for schools still striving for excellence.”

Join us in congratulating these outstanding rural and small schools!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *