2017 AIRSS Board Transition

AIRSS Board of Directors Transition

At the September 28, 2017 annual membership and Board of Directors meeting the peaceful transition of power occurred. A special thanks to AIRSS outgoing President Dr. Mark Twomey for his diligent work the past 3 years. His Presidency was focused on the revitalization and rebuilding of the organization, including the hiring of the Executive Director, establishing membership and sponsorship structures and the review of and revision of the organizations bylaws.

As shown in the picture (L-R): Mark Twomey now Immediate Past President, Edwin Shoemate newly elect President, and Jennifer Garrison-President Elect. Each office holds a 3 year term per AIRSS by-laws. President Shoemate will focus his efforts on building a robust and active membership and strong board communication to the membership. President Elect Garrison will focus her efforts on rural school legislative and policy matters and will be great asset in the capital. “AIRSS is fortunate to have great leadership actively engaged and in the pipeline, we are headed in the right direction on behalf of rural and small schools in Illinois”, shares, Dave Ardrey – AIRSS Executive Director.

David M. Ardrey
Executive Director
Association of Illinois Rural and Small Schools

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *